Two papers accepted for AAR 2012

The American Academy of Religion has accepted both of the paper proposals I had submitted for its 2012 annual meeting. The first paper, entitled ‘Saintly Masculinities in the Family of God’, will be presented in the Catholic Studies Group. This paper is based on my current research project A Saint in Times of AIDS: Religion and Masculinity Politics in Postcolonial Zambia, for which I recently conducted fieldwork in Zambia.
The second paper was accepted by the World Christianity Group and is entitled ‘The Homosexual as the Antithesis of “Biblical Manhood”? Queer(y)ing a Zambian Pentecostal Discourse’. The paper is based on fieldwork I conducted as part of my PhD research and is part of my ongoing research on Christian discourses on homosexuality in Africa.
I have presented papers at previous meetings of the AAR, but never in these two groups. The 2012 meeting takes place in Chicago, from 17-20 November. For further information, see www.aarweb.org.

Leave a comment

Filed under Conferences

Comments are closed.